"Leicester General Ward 29 - disgraceful treatment"

About: Leicester General Hospital

. I politely advised here as asked to attend response I get is What for?? Anyway told to go to triage handed note in no mention of long delays. Sat waiting for 2 hours no announcements or detail given to any patients. Went and asked for update told I was next no apology. Waited another 1/2 hour finally called. Nurse dealing with me couldn't of been less caring or bothered with me absolutely no patient care! Half way through consultation interrupted and told to leave the room no explanation. Told to wait again. Another 1/2 hour went to same nurse to ask what's going on was told "I don't know I'm not dealing with you now" and walked off I asked what am I supposed to do and told "no idea will ask the next nurse and find out what we do with you" again no apology I said this was unacceptable and she started ranting in the other room. Even receptionist stepped in and said you can't talk to the patient like that! She then walks off so wait and speak to the head nurse it believe unbelievably she says my fault I adv I'm in pain and was referred and what should I do was told no idea. Discharged myself and still in pain no idea what's wrong very poor care and attention and bad staff attitude

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital

Dear Rob, Thanks for taking the time to post your comment. We value all feedback as it helps us to improve our services for the future. We're really sorry to hear that you were kept waiting when you visited the General Hospital recently. On that particular day, we had a very high number of emergencies which caused a long wait for other patients. This should have been clearly communicated to you while you while waiting, and we are sorry that this didn't happen. The triage team are currently putting together a patient information leaflet for patients like yourself, advising what to expect of the triage process and the potential waiting times. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please feel free to contact matron Clair Riddell using Clair.Riddell@uhl-tr.nhs.uk. Kind regards, Communications team, Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story