"Please do not risk having your baby here."

About: Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

I have been left terrified of ever having another baby after having my daughter here in February last year. There were some lovely staff (the majority of whom were actually students or Healthcare assistants) but I came across some abusive, uncaring staff too. I will never forgive them for the stress and hurt they have caused us. Extremely unhappy with my experience. Complaint already submitted in writing.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback about your care and treatment at the Royal Shrewsbury Hospital. I am so sorry to hear your concerns about the care you received. We aim to provide the highest standards of care for every person, every time - but clearly you felt that this was not the case. I am sorry that although you were pleased with the care given by some staff, you found your experience not to be a positive one and that you felt some staff were uncaring leaving you very unhappy with your experience. I certainly hope that you have indeed contacted the Trust so that we can look into the issues that you have raised in more detail. Now, whilst the information that follows does not aim to address the specific issues about your care that you have raised, I hope that other prospective mums and families reading this can gain some reassurance from recent reviews of our maternity services. Firstly, in December, local GP commissioners worked with mothers and other service users to undertake a detailed review of our maternity services. This is available from http://www.shropshireccg.nhs.uk/news/review-delivered-on-maternity-services-for-mother-and-babies-in-shropshire-telford-and-wrekin-1914 (apologies for the long link - unfortunately this website does not have the option of adding a direct link so I have created a shorter link which will take you to the same page at http://tinyurl.com/shropmat). Overall, this review found a high level of satisfaction with the county's maternity services. Publishing the review, Dr Josh Dixey on behalf of the GP Commissioning Board said "It is clear that Shropshire has a maternity service to be proud of and that the model of service provision is safe and robust and is appropriate for a mixed rural and urban population." The report also holds some important recommendations for us and for other parts of the local health and care system. Alongside this, the Care Quality Commission has published a national survey of women's experiences of maternity services. This covered all aspects of maternity provision: antenatal care, care during labour and birth, and postnatal care. This was solely based on mums' experiences of our services and the results were very positive. The full results are available from the Care Quality Commission website at www.cqc.org.uk/survey/maternity/RXW My own experience of our maternity services team is that they take feedback very seriously, and I certainly hope that you find this to be the case. They have a real passion for offering the best start to life and the best experience for mum and family. They want to be confident that this passion is shared by everyone in the team, and your feedback will help them to achieve this. Please do make sure you contact us to discuss this in more detail. If you have not done so already you can find out how to do this from the front page of our website at www.sath.nhs.uk Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to share this. Adrian Osborne The Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story