"valuing the patient's opinion"

About: Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust / Adult mental health

(as a service user),

I posted on this site at the beginning of the year about a manager's invalidating response. I explained how I was never notified that pictures created when I was a in- patient in the hospital and asked for by the previous manager to frame and display in the foyer of PHC in Lincoln were suddenly and inexplicably removed by the incumbent manager of this psychiatric unit.

Around 10 months ago the department redecorated the unit and ignoring any patient art and opinion implemented the departments own vision of how the place should look. I had to try hard to track the manager down and beg to find out where they were so that I could retrieve them.There was no apology, no empathy. I remained polite nevertheless in the brief phone interaction I finally managed to procure.

When I posted on this site PALS was suggested to contact I tried this - they said they would get back to me and didn't.

At the start of the year I was referred for an SPA therapy referral. I rang to book.

Once again promise of someone getting back to me never materialised. What does a patient, particularly one with the stigma attached to their diagnosis, have to do to get their voice heard?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your posting on Patient Opinion. We actively support and recognise the art work undertaken by service users and community organisations. We have commissioned art work from community art groups such as the Gemini Arts Project who held their Arts Collective public Exhibition at Lincoln Central Library on 17 February 2014. We also have a range of service user art work currently being proudly displayed in a range of Trust buildings throughout Lincolnshire. However, we are sorry that you are not happy with the Trust’s communication with you. We know from the details of your feedback that we are in the process of trying to resolve this situation with you and different people are involved with this and we are sorry that you have been distressed.

We can’t go into individual detail on the Patient Opinion site for two reasons, firstly we do not want to compromise your confidentiality at all and also Patient Opinion would not want to get in the way of people who are in touch with you.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story