"Good and bad patient journey in Edinburgh!"

About: Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh at Little France / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

Having been diagnosed with a non malignant chronic condition I have become aware just how much inequality exists between malignant and non malignant disease. Of course, cancer is an awful disease that deserves prompt treatment. But there are there any other diseases that exist that impact on quality of life.

Most staff at Edinburgh Royal Infirmary are great but there are the usual few that let the service down, in a big way.

Care often let down by the process rather than the people involved. I was under gynaecology and required colorectal input and had to start the whole new patient journey again. Plan for op in one month of one year and op finally performed 9 months and in a different year. Yes, really!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stuart Wilson, Director of Communications and Public Affairs, NHS Lothian

Dear Edinburgh girl,

Thank you for getting in touch with your feedback. I am pleased that you have positive comments about the staff involved in your care but apologise for the process that you have gone through which has caused you upset.

If you are able to contact us on craft@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk to give us more information about your case I can promise that it will be looked into so we can provide you with a full response as to what happened that resulted in your wait. I hope you will get in touch so that we can find out what happened in this case.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story