"2 visits to this hospital"

About: Croydon University Hospital

I have had 2 visits to this hospital. The first was last September when I was taken in for mental health issues and high BP. On arrival I was in a bay with 2 other people. I was given the wrong name tag, they then took blood. I asked what was happening next and the reply came that they were waiting for the blood results and they would then get the doctor to see me about my legs! If I wasn't feeling depressed enough already, they certainly didn't help. Thank God I was awake and alert (isn) Last week I had to go for a 24 hour BP monitor to be fitted. The building I had to go to was dirty and worn. The staff were friendly enough, but we were delayed an hour as the computer equipment had broken down. I don't like this hospital at all and dread being sent there again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

Thank you for getting in touch and we are sorry that you had such a negative experience of care with us, both at our A&E and with our telehealth service. Your experience at A&E falls far short of the level of care that you should expect from us and we have passed on your comments to the A&E team to look into. We have also passed on your comments to the telehealth team who fitted your BP monitor; we are glad that you were treated well by our staff in this service and we apologise for the delay in your treatment. If you would like to talk to us in more detail about your experience with us you can contact our PALS team on 020 8401 3210 or on talktous@croydonhealth.nhs.uk; we will then be able to make sure we can investigate what happened to you thoroughly and keep you informed of what we find.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story