"Disgusting treatment !"

About: Croydon University Hospital

I am totally disgusted how i have been treated by your hospital ! I went to A&E on boxing day with blood and clots in my urine and retention unable to pass urine and severe pain. The Dr wanted to send me home as no infection found but an obvious problem,anyone could see that ! I was put on a catheter with no forwarding appointments until a lovely nurse spoke to the Dr and she felt i should be admitted. Anyway i was admitted to Queens 1 for 5 days with no tests apart from the urology team saying i needed an urgent cystoscopy but would have to be done as an outpatient as they were so busy ? I questioned the Dr and heard 15 minutes of him rattling on about hospital finances !!! Anyway i was discharged with a catheter bag and told to wait basically.Despite the promise of an urgent two week outpatient cystoscopy 15 days later i still hadn't heard a thing. I went to the ward and i demanded to speak to the urology team who told me they were sorry but someone accidently booked the procedure as an inpatient and i was forgotten after my discharge ! I went straight to Pals and they helped sort out an appointment for me ,a wonderful team. I finally had the cystoscopy done two weeks ago,the Dr noted i had some inflammation in my bladder but put it down to the catheter despite bleeding and pain before ! I was told i could have an obstruction further up in my ureter but he left me with no further investigations to be done and a follow up for 6 weeks time still connected to the catheter bag ! At present my catheter bags are two weeks out of date and the lancaster suite treated me in a rude vile way when i approached them for more bags and advice.The urology outpatients refused to help me also it's a disgrace,i have Lupus which opens me up to infection especially when it comes to the kidneys ! I am now considering making plans to take legal action if nothing moved on with my health care!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, both here on NHS Choices and with our PALS team. It is clear that you did not receive the high quality, compassionate care which we aim to provide to all of our patients; we have passed your comments on to the teams that treated you and we will look in to the issues that you have raised. We are glad that you had a good experience in your dealings with our PALS team; please do get in touch with them on 020 8401 3210 or through talktous@croydonhealth.nhs.uk if you would like to be kept informed of the progress of our investigations.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story