"Waste of time"

About: Airedale General Hospital

I attended A & E when I had a nosebleed which had lasted for more than 2 hours. This was one of many that I had experienced during the previous 2 weeks.. but was by far the worst...soaking a bath towel with blood. I waited for 4 hours to be seen in a very busy and apparently understaffed department. When I was eventually seen..not sure who by..he did not tell me his position in the hospital..I was told that as the bleeding had stopped he could only suggest I contact my doctor sometime. He repeatedly said that my nose was no longer bleeding...at least 10 times. When I left the hospital my nose started to bleed prolifically again. I had received no assistance whatsoever at the hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Airedale General Hospital

It is disappointing that you left Airedale Hospital feeling that you were given no assistance and we are sorry this has been your experience. It is hoped the conversation you have since had with our Unit Manager for A&E has satisfied you that this matter has been taken seriously.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story