"Feeling very disappointed."

I'm currently nursing one of my relatives through cancer at the moment. They had their first session of chemo and what an experience. Firstly there was nobody on reception. We were showed to the bed by somebody who was leaving to go home and then left. The staff were quite clearly not briefed on the new patients coming in as to any special requirements.They were very disrespectful in the way they spoke to the patient aswell. Bearing in mind that these patients are all scared and worried and a whole bunch of emotions. They were not offered any alternatives to the meals either as their diet is very limited, so the patient went without any food for 24hrs, which to me was disgusting. The chemo machine kept bleeping to say it had stopped going through so they rang the bell and was told not to move because that would stop it from working. I could go on with a lot more, but on the whole it was a very poor experience.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bristol Haematology & Oncology Centre

We are concerned to hear about your relative’s experience at the BHOC when attending their chemotherapy treatment. We would like to apologise for the issues you describe and will share your feedback with the management team. We would like to investigate the concerns you have raised and will need some specific information and consent from your relative in order to do so. Please can you contact a member of the Patient Support & Complaints Team on (0117) 342 3604 (or email pals@uhbristol.nhs.uk) and they will be able to assist. Thank you for your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story