About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

The appointment I had was over one and a half hours late. I was clearly the last patient on the list. The consultant was not interested in listening to what I had to say and was brusque, dismissive and quite rude. I was referred for a CT scan which I had in November 2013. I was told I would have results in 2 to 3 weeks. In January 2014 I rang to see what was going on to be told that I would get the results in March 2014 as part of a 4 month review. This is really very poor service as the condition I have has shown little or no improvement and by the time I am seen again it will have been 5 months and considerably longer since the referral from my GP

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Clinic appointments can sometimes unfortunately run late however we would expect the outpatient staff to keep you fully informed and for all staff members to be courteous and attentive during your consultation and therefore please accept our apologies if this was not the standard of service you received. If you would like a member of the PALS Team to look into the issues you have raised, please contact them either by email or phone: pals@chs.northy.nhs.uk or freephone 0800 587 6513.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Recently read