"Is there anybody there"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

After my last complaint about blood tests "not being carried out anymore" I had a polite reply stating the receptionist is now reminded of the working practice in operation, lets hope she understands and does not continue to turn peolple away. The blood test finaly went OK and I was in and out without issue apart from the £2 parking for 15mins. I then received two letters requesting I attend Medway for a CT scan and Will Adams for another procedure, on the scan letter was a request for me to contact the Hospital to advise on a specific medication and advise on "any clinical issues" As I'm not sure what was required I started to telphone the number advised. I have continued for days but on every occasion I get the departments answering machine, I have left a voice mail requesting they call me, as yet nothing. This also applies for my appointment at Will Adams, this time I need to confirm I will be attending, I have left another voice mail confirming I will be attending and requesting a call back acknowledgement. Does anyone at Medway understand the worry patients go through while waiting for tests and results. I will continue with my quest to contact a real person at Medway Hospital, if I don't get to speak to a member of staff I will turn up and hope all is on schedule and there are no issues.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

Unfortunately we are no longer able to offer patients from GP practices blood tests here at Medway, but instead, advise these patients of offsite providers. We continue however to have an inpatient blood test facility. I am very sorry to hear you have been having trouble getting through on the phone to the CT department. The department has a nurse on duty to answer any clinical enquiries and therefore I would like to apologise on behalf of the nursing team that your call has not been returned. I will be discussing this matter with the nursing manager. You mention that you have had similar trouble getting through to Will Adams, and I believe you may be referring to the Will Adams Centre which is separate to the hospital. If you would like to discuss these issues further, please contact me (Carole-Ann Holmes) on 01634 830000 x5560. Carole-Ann Holmes Clerical Operations Manager Imaging and Nuclear Medicine & Simon Weeks Deputy General Manager – Adult Medicine

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story