"Endometrial biopsy"

About: Queen Charlotte's Hospital

I visited the gynaecology clinic after a referral by my GP. I waited for 2 hours in the waiting room. Many patients were questioning the length of the waiting time and the response was always the same,'the doctors do not know how long each patient will take.' It is disrespectful in my view to keep people waiting so long. When I did see the doctor she said she could not tell me medical details of the patient before e who took so long. I replied that I wasn't asking her to. The biopsy was extremely painful. I am surprised now to learn that I could have had some pain relief. It was not mentioned and the nurse was prepared to hold me down as she must have known I would try to leap off the bed. The experience left me feeling most distressed and upset.. It was wholly unpleasant and negative. perhaps doctors could advise patients that there is pain relief for such a nasty procedure.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Charlotte's Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is very sorry to hear that your experience of our gynaecology service at Queen Charlotte's did not match your expectations. We sincerely apologise for the distress that you experienced. Your comments were shared with the outpatients manager and the consultant that you saw on the day. Unfortunately for some patients in this clinic who might have received a cancer diagnosis ee aim to give each patient as long as they need to ask questions about their diagnosis and treatments. This can cause the clinic to overrun and result in other patients waiting longer to see our specialist doctors and nurses than we would like. We apologise if the explanation regarding your wait from our out patients manager was not handled in a manner that you find appropriate. We are sorry that you found the biopsy painful. Obtaining a tissue sample is the best way to rule out or confirm cancer. All our nurses have a duty of care and are in the clinic to support patients and act as an advocate, none of them would be allowed or expected to allow any procedure to occur against a patient’s wishes. We apologise that you were made to feel that you had to have a biopsy on the day, as although there isn’t a recognised pain killer for this procedure that would act immediately, you perhaps would have preferred delaying the biopsy for a week and taken pain killers half an hour before. We assume that patients want to get to diagnosis as quickly as possible so thank you for bringing to our attention your experience so we can be mindful of alternatives and ensure we provide a good experience for all our patients.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story