"What a sham of a hospital! Wont be returning"

About: Tameside General Hospital

I attended my appointment on the 9th December 2013, early for my appointment at 2.40 not to be seen until a whole hour later. When I asked reception staff how long it would be the answer was we don't know, very helpful with a very tired baby who had been sat for over an hour waiting to be seen. Following on from this we were then seen to be told we would then have to wait to be seen by a nurse another 30 minutes wait. Just what was needed. Since then I have had the notes from the visit the doctor who clearly had not been listening as some were written wrong. I am still waiting a follow on referral to the ENT. I have complained about my daughters treatment to have little response. So to sum it all up don't use this hospital and don't expect anyone to care about any complaints as they treat them how they treat there patients.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We apologies that the care you experienced on this day was less than excellent. The whole team usually pride themselves in trying to keep parents informed if there are any delays during clinics and to ensure that clinics run to time. There are on occasions however that due to unforeseen circumstances a clinic runs late. The departmental manager shall speak to the team about your experience and see if there are any other ways to improve the experience of parents.

Kind regards

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story