"Out-patient turned away from planned treatment"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

As an out-patient requiring surgery to cover exposed skull bone and living 80+ miles away from Leicester Royal Infirmary, I am extremely distressed that I was turned away from the Theatre Arrivals Area because no bed had been set aside for my two day attendance. The beds are not within the control of TAA staff and so those staff are not the target of my complaint I understand from TAA staff that another admission date will be set two weeks on and it will be quite possible that I will be turned away again for the same reason. My head injury occured on 17 November 2013 and I think it should have been attended to without this delay. Please be clear on this one point, my complaint must be addressed to the staff who fail to assign beds for out-patients who have treatment and admission pre-arranged. M. M. 8 January 2014

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear M.M. We are very sorry to hear of your experience and completely appreciate that this would be very frustrating. Unfortunately we were under severe bed pressures on the day of your appointment. We cannot guarantee your next appointment will not result in a similar outcome, but if you can make us aware of the date of your next appointment we will do everything we can to ensure that this doesn't happen. To do this please contact communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk, including the date of the appointment, your name, date of birth and address, and we will do our very best to help. Kind regards Communications Team Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story