"Great support from EPU"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

Unfortunately I suffered a miscarriage in July this year and after a shockingly bad experience of being forgotten about in an A&E cubicle for hours because of an admin error, which resulted in me not even seeing a doctor in 4 hours. I could have understood if they were busy but most just stood around gossiping and eating in the Ward. I was finally transferred to this unit to be looked after by the wonderful nurses. The nurses took the time to give me the care and support I needed and ran through the options for me in detail. I would like to suggest that women who are going through this kind of trauma should be able to go directly to the Ward rather than being subjected to the poor levels of care displayed by the A&E department.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

While we are pleased to hear that you were happy with your care on the ward, it is worrying that you had a poor experience in A and E at such a distressing time for you. We will speak to the department’s staff about this. As for your suggestion that women who may be miscarrying go straight to the ward, this is in fact something that we are considering for the future and comments such as yours will be taken into account.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story