"Cancer surgery"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

I am absolutely disgusted how I was treated and the standard of care I was given (not given). I recently had surgery for skin cancer. I was lying on the operating table, surgeon asked other nurser to cut a few hairs from the area, and she came wading in and shaved the area!! I was in shock and didn't say anything! Then having had the one removed from my face and then he started on my back.. first injection then started the operation.. with several interuptions from i was told, his students as he is also a teacher in his field, for them to discuss another patient infront of me was just outrageous, and then to leave me bleeding for the nurse to mop up while he stood and had a chat! then for another person to pop their head round the corner for a chat about another patient.. it was like picadilly circus in there. Then i told him i could feel him cutting me and sewing me up he just said nearly over! having then finished I got up.. he'd already left, for the nurse to watch me try and get myself dressed, she then handed me an envelope with instructions and told me not to bend over, stretch, pull, lift anything.. i said you just saw me struggling with my boots.. with a rye smile she just handed me the letter and walked away. Please if you can get referred somewhere else do so! an absolute joke! I am so disgusted with how i was treated i am putting in a formal complaint! I work for the NHS and I know that how i was treated is breaking so many regulations! Still in alot of pain.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your treatment, you have raised a number of points of concern and I would like the opportunity to discuss these with you further. In order to look into your concerns in more detail we will need some more information about you and therefore I urge you to contact Rachel Rowson, Service Manager for Dermatology and Thoracic including the Sleep Service on 01634 830000 ext 5333. We always try to put patients at ease and tell them when we need to shave some hair for surgery, I am sorry that you were not informed. This is very unusual and I will be sure to remind nurses that this is necessary. We also try and engage patients in conversation to make them feel relaxed. As for interruptions by nurses and junior doctors, this is unfortunately unavoidable as if a consultant is prepared for surgery they cannot leave theatre and a registrar may have a patient in clinic that they need to make a clinical decision about quickly. Patient confidentiality is taken very serious and patient names are never used when discussing a case in front of other patients or visitors. As for the local anaesthetic, we would always test before starting the procedure but sometimes there may be a twinge of pain during the final stages if the wound has to be extended or stretched. I am extremely sorry you felt rushed by the consultant leaving swiftly; I am sure no offence was intended and that he had to rush off to deal with a medical situation. I apologise that you have been left feeling dissatisfied with your experience with dermatology; this is certainly a rare event and something that I would like to look into further. Halpern Saul Consultant Dermatologist

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story