"Early Pregnancy Unit"

About: Princess Alexandra Hospital (Harlow)

I really will not recommend this unit to anybody. Suffered a mc in february and it was a very painful and horrible experience. I have to say that the nurses are excellent. they were friendly and very helpful. The doctors on the otherhand are hopeless. I saw two doctors and both were either house officer or on some sort of training. they were uncommunicative and one of them did npt even know what he was doing. The first doctor i saw when i was bleeding was very uncaring. he gave me no information whatsoever and just said well go home, thier is nothing we can do to stop the miscarriage. I had to go to my GP to explain things to me and what my options were if i did go ahead to miscarry. after the miscarrieage he told me to do home and that was it. when i queried why i have not been booked in for a scan to make sure everything was okay he said i didn't need it but i insisted and he went out to ask one of the nurses who confirmed it. I was there again in october and seems nothing has changed. after a 3 hour wait, i finally saw a dcotor who sent me for bloods and told me to go home and call for a scan appointment. i called at 4pm as asked and i was told my blood was fine but should await a call for a scan from them. this was on thursday. I waited for a call on friday which never came. I then called on monday and left a message but did not get a response. I caleld again on tuesday. it after the 3rd call on tuesday that i was called back. i was then offered a scan for the friday. i told the nurse i had been waiting for a called back since the last thursday and she went back to the check and finally i was offered a scan the next day. after the scan i which was fine as they could see the baby heartbeat, i went back to see the a doctor. this time i met the most uncommunicative doctor. he introduced himself and just mumbled soemthing after that abd sat there looking at me. i had to ask the questions and relay my fears and it ws a struggle to get any reply out of him. unfortunately i started bleeding the following week and was back in again. after a 3 hour wait again, i saw a really nice female doctor, who was very concenred and explained everything to me. she was very sympathetic and nice. Btw leaving the hospital and getting home, the bleeding got much worse and i started passing a lot of blood and tissue but i was just could not go back to harlow for a 3 hour wait and then see ing a horrible doctor so i opted to be referred to stevenage instead. i can't even think of going back to harlow or recommending it to anyone after both experiences

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Alexandra Hospital

Dear Anonymous, I can completely understand how you feel having read your experience and although, as you say, the nurses were excellent, there really was no excuse for the uncommunicative consultations and delay in follow up you experienced from some staff. We recognise this is an issue and are actively working to address it so thank you for leaving your feedback. It would really help us pinpoint the specific detail if you were to get in touch with us by telephone or email. I have escalated your concerns to the Medical Director, the Director of Nursing and the Head of Nursing for Women's Services. They have considered what you have said and are keen to meet with you to help support the changes needed to get things right in future. The email address to write to is pals@pah.nhs.uk and if you mark it for the attention of the Head of Patient Experience. You can also call us on 01279 82 72 11 between Monday to Friday 9am to 5pm. We are taking your concerns very seriously and are ready to respond.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story