"My unsatisfactory experience at Medway Maritime..."

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

In the five days that I spent on Phoenix ward I was subject to the worst experience I have ever had in a hospital. I was left to lie in a bed soaked in urine for four hours because no-one emptied my catheter bag. I couldn't sleep owing to the noise of a dementia patient in the bed opposite, who occasionally came and urinated up the wall beside me. The overhead lights were lit until at least 2 am and the constant noise was a nightmare. In addition the food was inedible and I had to have food brought in. The bathrooms were filthy and blood-stained. Cost-cutting was apparent in the lack of staff and the poor quality of the food, not to mention the lack of cleanliness and hygiene.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

I am very sorry to hear about your experience as an inpatient on Phoenix Ward and that these issues were not addressed while you were staying with us. Some of your experiences are unacceptable and should not happen to anyone – please be assured I will be addressing these matters. As we do not have the specific dates of your stay, it is difficult to explain some of the other matters you outline but I would be happy to listen and discuss these further with you. You mentioned that you found the bathrooms in a bad condition – occasionally leakages happen and our ward housekeepers resolve the problem promptly. Patients usually kindly report these accidents as soon as they occur so we can get the area cleaned quickly. I hope this addresses some of your concerns but please do get in touch if you’d like to talk through things further. All the best, Tatiana Williams Senior Sister Phoenix Ward tatiana.williams@medway.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story