"antenatal dapartment (consultant appointment time..."

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

Today we had an appointment to see our consultant and it was arranged for 2.40 we eventually got took in to a side room at 3.45 and then told the consultant won't be long after another 10 minutes the consultant came in went through all the notes and we were basically told nothing I had taken an hour off work because we were attending an appointment with a time allocated to it so to have to wait almost 2 hours is unacceptable I got severely reprimanded when I got back to work and it wasn't my fault when you are given a time how can you end up over an hour to wait and then spend almost 2 hours in the hospital. This in my opinion is not acceptable and needs to be looked into. I think this goes for almost all of Sunderland Royal Hospital as tea and coffee breaks are the only thing that seems to run like clockwork

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Thank you for your comment, we are sorry taht you had to wait in order to see the Consultant and that this caused problems for you on your return to work. We do make efforts to ensure that patients are given a time to see the Consultant which we can keep, however, sometimes this is not possible due to the nature of the conditions of other patients in the clinic. We would be grateful if you could let us know the speciality which you were waiting for by emailing us at corporate.affairs@chsft.nhs.uk so that we can address this with them.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story