"Poor service from East Herts trust to make an..."

About: Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital (Welwyn Garden City)

Very unhappy with the service provided from East Herts trust. Following a visit to QE II A&E I was advised that my notes would be referred to the ENT department and that I was to call the department a couple of days after to arrange an appointment. On calling the department as advised, I came to know that my notes had not been passed on. After a few hours I was called with an offer of an appointment on 10 January which I accepted. The person calling me abruptly put the phone down on me when I enquired if there was a possibility of anything earlier as I was in constant pain and have so far not recieved any medical help. To add to this, the letter I received to confirm the appointment stated 24 January. On calling the appiontment line number to find out what was going on I was advised that the appointment of 10 January was no longer available. Having only recently moved to Hertfordshire, this is my first experience of the local health facilities, and its clear to say that I am so far very disappointed at the service provided, particularly at a time when I am in pain. Apologies for the negative feedback, I do recognise the good and hard work staff in health trusts undertake, however I think its equally important to be aware of flaws in processes, to lessen the impact on future patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital

We think you have every right to feel let down as although the A&E visit at the QEII seemed to go okay, the follow-up appointment process appears to have been dogged with difficulties - none of which was of your making. Although you have an appointment now for 24 January, if you contact us on generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net, we would like to get this episode investigated and if an earlier appointment can be found make sure that this is offered to you asap. It would also allow the appointments team to apologise to you for the failings in the service provided

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story