"care on wards"

About: St Helier Hospital

The call buttons are regularly out of reach of patients no help is provided with people who are not eating or drinking properly... packaging left unopened , and inaccessible Nurses respond slowly to the call button... I timed 13minutes last time... too late for bed pan Insufficient changing of incontinence pads. Poor communication for relatives..., difficulty in speaking to the right healthworker. No phones on ward to speak with relative No amusement for patients... eg television room, talking books..... Poor staffing levels at weekends

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Helier Hospital

Thank you for giving us feedback. We are sorry you found our hospital lacking in so many ways. With regard to meal times, had you made it known to nursing staff you needed assistance? All our hospitals offer protected meal times so we are disappointed to hear you did not receive help. If you need to make a call we have a mobile payphone that can be made available for you if you asked nursing staff. All of our beds have entertainment stations where you can buy a top up card to watch TV, and many of our patients bring in their own forms of entertainment such as books or audio books. With regard to weekend staffing levels we adhere to the required patient staff ratio at all times. We have passed your feedback on to the relevant departments and thanks again for taking the time to give us feedback. Could I ask that you please respond to our Patient Advisory Liaison team with more information them at pals@esth.nhs.uk or calling 0208 296 2058 so we can investigate further for you. Dr James Marsh Joint Medical Director

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful