"This hospital is in the wrong business!"

My elderly mother was taken into A&E by ambulance as a result of severe pain and internal bleeding. After 6 house she was discharged with no treatment, still in pain and still bleeding. Needless to say she was taken back in by ambulance the very next day. An appalling and unacceptable hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Royal University Hospital

We are very sorry for your mother's poor experience at the Trust. The Accident and Emergency department has been under considerable pressure recently due to increases in the number of patients coming in to A&E and across the hospital. However, your mother should still have been able to expect a much higher standard of care and it is clearly not right to send a patient home with the symptoms you describe. Unfortunately we are unable to instigate an investigation through a comment on NHS Choices and I would advise you to contact our PALs department if you would like to make a formal complaint. You can do this by calling Tel: 01689 863252 or email: slh-tr.br-pals@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful