"Decision From Hell - Phoenix Ward"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Anything else?

My Grandad was taken into Hospital with a very bad swollen foot with had the colour as purple as a beetroot. Upon visiting him today, the Concierge had no records of him being processed and put into a ward. I was then advised to go to the A&E department to find out where he was. After 30 minutes, I was finally told where he was. Upon my arrival to the ward, I found a Physio attending to my Grandad attempting to do some leg movements (despite him saying no as he can't walk anyway!) My Nan rung up earlier that morning and was told that my Grandad would be kept in over night. She then cancelled his Carer's visits! When shown his notes, it stated that he will be sent home and that, without informing my Nan, they were sending him home. If I didn't turn up when I did, he could have been sent home uncared for! Bearing in mind that he is an 82 year old man who does not have the ability to stand up, let alone walk! The nurse who came to deal with the situation kept interrupting and was very rude alongside having a stuck up attitude! When informing the nurse that they can't send my Grandad home, she used a very fed up tone with me and said 'oh well'. I was then told that my Grandad would be discussed at an MDM meeting on Wednesday because two 'professional' doctors could not come up with a mutual decision on whether to put him under operation to remove his leg (looking at the record history). To me, this is unacceptable! He was then told by one doctor that there was nothing wrong with his leg and then told by the second doctor that something was definitely wrong... But yet they couldn't work out what it was. I'm not a Doctor, but I'm a qualified First Aider and I knew exactly what had caused it which they're now considering as a possibility. I was very unsatisfied by all of this and it is not fair on my Grandad to be mucked around, especially with all the pain he is in! Losing faith in our NHS to be honest!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences. I am very sad and sorry to hear that your Granddad did not have a satisfactory patient experience during his recent visit to the Trust. I will be discussing the concerns you have raised with my team to ensure we learn from these incidents. I would appreciate it if you could please contact me on 01634 830000, x6718 to enable us to talk through the issues and concerns that you have raised to enable us to ensure that your Granddad has an improved experience and receives the treatment required. Sam Goldberg, General Manager – Surgery, Anaesthesia & Critical Care

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story