"2 hours ?"

About: Addenbrooke's Hospital

Anything else?

Appointment in Clinic 4a 10.30am. 2nd January 2014. Finally seen at 12.40pm. Nobody apologised or gave any explanation for delay. Although the info board declared 45-60 minutes behind schedule. How can you be 2 hours out on the first morning of the year ? If this rolled over then some poor soul will be waiting a whole week come December. Someone somewhere is putting too many appointments into one day........or somebody is not working hard enough. Now aged 70, and looking back on 50 years of contributions into National Insurance. It's a much admired NHS, but it's not perfect.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Addenbrooke's Hospital

We were very sorry to learn of your poor experience. It was very unfortunate and not acceptable that you had such a lengthy wait. I have raised this concern with the senior operational team as well as the Clinical Director for Urology. Having reviewed the clinics in progress in clinic 4a on the day in question there is no plausible explanation for such late running. The clinic we believe you attended was actually underbooked as there had been some late notice cancellations. We can only presume that a particular case was far more complicated than had been anticipated and this delayed the timing of subsequent appointments. That said there is no excuse for poor communication and the clinic staff have been reminded of the importance of updating patients regularly, and to ensure the electronic notice boards are updated at least every 30 minutes. Once again please accept our apologies for your poor experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story