"Not impressed"

About: Southampton General Hospital

Anything else?

Extremely patchy clinical care. Misdiagnoses, incorrect advice and the whole mismanagement of the patients care in all kind ways (despite the amount of clinician contact) means a loss of confidence in this hospital for adult care. . The current diagnosis should have been made months ago. Because it wasn't, patient has developed other problems. Big teaching hospital with excellence in some areas and good in other areas but dire in parts as well. Discharge documentation is also poor at times. Need to have more comprehensive and timely communication between clinical staff to prevent costly delays in diagnosis. Not impressed at all.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, however we were very sorry to read that the experience of the patient you refer to has not been up to the standard we would expect which has led to a loss of confidence in our services. This is not how we would want any of our patients to feel and staff in the Patient Support Services would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you. We can be contacted on 023 8120 6325.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story