"Generally impressed"

About: Calderdale Royal Hospital

Anything else?

Have been referred to orthopaedics and ultrasound scanning departments in the past year and have been impressed with the short referral to seen time and relatively short waiting time in the hospital. The only 'complaints' are: 1. Despite asking, I have never been sent a copy of clinic letters to GP. As GPs do not always follow up letters promptly, if at all, it is essential that patient copies are sent as a matter of course, particularly if follow up treatment is required. 2. Please provide an additional normal phone number for appointments, so that mobile users do not have to pay the 0800 charge. On one occasion I was held up by traffic and wanted to let the clinic know that I would be late. I was on hold for about 40 minutes waiting to speak to someone and it will have cost me several pounds in extra phone charges.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Calderdale Royal Hospital

We are sorry to hear that you have had a few "complaints". We are not sure why you are not getting copies of the letters to your GP if you have requested them but would be happy to follow this up for you. We also take on board your comments about the appointments phone number which will be referred to the relevant department. Please telephone our Patient Advice and Complaints team on 0800 013 0018 or 01484 342825, or email at patientadvice@cht.nhs.uk and they will be happy to look into the issue regarding your copy letters. Thank you for your comments.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story