"Parts of the building are nice ..."

About: Central Middlesex Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

Parts of the building are nice and new! Nurse in Gynaecology department helped me in not getting a parking fine, she was the only person that showed any compassion.

What could be improved

Staff need to be trained that the patient should come first as virtually all the staff are rude and unhelpful staff, they all seem to think that patients know where everything is in the hospital which is not the case!! I ended up by waiting over 2 hours to be seen by the Gynaecology department and nearly ended up paying a parking fine. for a new building the signage is appalling, you are unable to see the numbers down the main corridor as they are tucked too far inside each individual corridor, perhaps a plan would be a good idea, there is plenty of space. Main reception vast, what a waste of space, and only mannned by 1 person, this is sheer madness in an age where space is money!! Train staff to multi task, ie receptionists should be able to cover gynaecology and urology, not just 1 receptionist for each whereby if 1 is away at lunch the other is unable to assist. Train staff to actually listen to what patients say, I was told by the consultant to book and Ultrasound then book an appointment with him 10 days afterwards, how could the receptionist tell me that this was wrong, patients do not make these things up!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Middlesex Hospital

I am writing in response to your message on the NHS choices website and I was concerned to learn of the experience you have described. Your comments are important to us and we would like to investigate the issues you have raised. Please contact us directly with your concerns by calling 020 8869 2026. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful