"The walk-in centre is advertised ..."

About: Edgware Community Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

The walk-in centre is advertised as being open until 11pm. I took 1 hour to get through traffic on the bus from Cricklewood and they had locked the doors. No explanation, no sign saying why. The entire hospital was deserted like some sort of NHS Marie Celeste.

Finally, a security guard told me they had shut early because they were short staffed.

A throng of wounded and ill people gather in the grounds like extras on a zombie movie, pawing the locked doors. I was left to limp home with an infected leg wound in the rain. Edgware Community Hospital is a waste of space and taxpayers' money.

What could be improved

Employ some staff.

Treat the sick.

Don't shut up shop 2 hours early.

Advertise actual opening hours.

It is an outrageous way to treat patients by advertising a treatment service and then locking them out in the rain to fend for themselves.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Edgware Community Hospital


Thank you for your comments.

On this occasion, we can't reply as we don't run the walk-in centre. We will pass your points on to Barnet Primary Care Trust.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful