"Ward 2 -Night staff uncaring. Discharge lounge..."

About: Royal Orthopaedic Hospital

Anything else?

If you have a vulnerable patient on ward 2 who says they were spoken to roughly by the night staff or that their requests were ignored then believe them and please flag to PALS. There are some characters on nights who behave badly towards patients and do so noisily, keeping patients awake leaving lights on despite being asked to turn them off. To hear 2 assistants say about an agency staff nurse right behind his back "who is he ? Where did they get him from?" As he quietly and gently dispensed the night time drugs. This summed up their attitude to team work- and they did not care the impact of their moments on patient confidence in the team. This behaviour has been flagged to the management team who will take action. In the meantime please listen to and believe you relatives if they tell you bad things. Days were better organised. I did watch one patient wait hours to be mobilised and harangued by night staff when she asked again. The only bad thing that happened to mewas that I was consciously given the wrong size compression socks - given large when I needed small - by a male assistant. Not sure that they were going to work I went to find him only to be told he knew they were the wrong size. These are expensive items so not only would I have not had a working pair - they would been discarded once someone had given me the right size. My experience in the discharge lounge was poor for similarly unprofessional uncaring reasons I was taken into the discharge lounge- where 3 staff nurses were having a food party and discussing time sheets and ignoring patients - cooing over Xmas shopping from a nurses daughter who hung around the lounge for over 40 minutes. I was seated by the ward nurse at the far side of the room and then ignored by all 3 staff nurses who continued discussing time sheets, looking at the xmas shopping bought by the nurses daughter and eating party food. If I had been looked after first then none of this would have been a problem. When eventually I was spotted across the room my name was called out in font of another patient and relative and the staff nurse daughter and my drugs were discussed with me in a loud voice from across the room- in font of everyone. When I asked for confidentiality I was told " it doesn't matter as you are all in the same drugs". The nurse came over angrily to reinforce this point just as matron came in to see me about the night time activities. There are one really good staff on ward 2 - but there are others whose behaviour has no place in a caring professional environment. The good staff struggle to influence the poor staff behaviour - the management rely on patients and carers to tell them. So if you have concerns you need to raise them with sister or PALS This is my second stay on this ward in 3 months - on both occasions night care has been poor. Some staff were lovely and the surgical teams outstanding. If their standards could go across the hospital it would great

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Orthopaedic Hospital

First of all please accept my apologies for the delay to respond to your post online - this has been due to the festive period which of course I hope you and your loved ones enjoyed. Thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns with us whilst you were at the Hospital and for speaking with the Ward Manager and Matron. I understand that these were fully investigated and acted upon and that we will be feeding back to you with more information shortly. If you would prefer to receive this personally, please do contact our PALS team and we can make the necessary arrangements to meet at a convenient time for your diary. with best wishes for your continued recovery and wellbeing, Claire Williams, Patient Relations Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story