"Very disappointing and upsetting"

About: Royal Surrey County Hospital

Anything else?

My consultant is fantastic and I am still under her care but my stay on the respiratory ward was appalling, (I was not even a respiratory patient) the whole 10 days I was there not once was the toilet / shower room cleaned! My IV line was put in without my skin being cleaned first ( in A&E) and the food was really quite bad. I have stayed in many hospitals due to my many rare and complex diseases and I am afraid to say this was the worst hospital I have stayed in. My outpatients care has been great and I can contact my specialist nurse whenever I need to., no improvements needed there but the inpatient wards are really bad and something should be done - this is compared to Frimley Park hospital, royal Brompton hospital which is outstanding ,Chelsea and Westminster and Basingstoke. The Speech and language therapist were also quite bad as I came in with an issue and they told my next of kin it was psychological... I have since had a scan and it was defiantly not - they made me doubt myself and feel very uneasy and unwelcome and that I was wasting their time. Now I know I actually have a problem and I'm glad to say I don't have to see them ever again. I'm really sorry to put a bad review because the NHS is amazing!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Surrey County Hospital

Hello, We value all feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your experience with us. We would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. As such, please can you contact us at rsc-tr.communications@nhs.net so that we can get some more details to enable us to do so. Regards, Royal Surrey County Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story