"Wards brilliant - follow up rubbish!!"

About: The Great Western Hospital

Anything else?

After being admitted in November, first to LAMU then on to Falcon ward, I have to say the inpatient facilities are wonderful, food is great, and the nurses caring and considerate. However, after being discharged on 18/11/13, the follow up has been awful. I was put on the maximum dose of steroids and told I would have three appointments, one of which was a biopsy. This has taken place, as has the appointment with the Rheumatology clinic. I was supposed to have a follow up with neurology within three weeks, this did not happen, prompting me to ring on 13th December to query this. I was told nothing had been arranged but on reviewing my notes, was told a note would be put on my file and I would be contacted on 16th December. This has never happened. After my appointment at Devizes, the consultant there was concerned that I had been left on the maximum steroid dosage for so long and suggested I contact my GP to reduce the dosage under his supervision, along with the promise of a letter with her prognosis. My GP is disappointed that we seem to have no information on diagnosis or treatment. I have a very caring employer, but they also need to be kept informed, as do family and friends. I feel totally let down by the system and very much out on a limb. Your opinion on this matter would be much appreciated.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Great Western Hospital

I'm sorry that your aftercare didn't match the good experience of our inpatient wards. It's not the service we aim to offer and we would be interested in looking into this further for you. Because NHS Choices is anonymous, we don't have any of your details to enable us to investigate this. If you'd like us to look into your concerns, I'd be grateful if you could contact our customer service team, who can take all the relevant details. The team are available on 01793 604031, or by email to pals.team@gwh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story