"apalling care whilst inpatient and shocking admin..."

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

Anything else?

following admission after involvement in a RTA I received excellent initial care, however once moved to the wards the care was appalling. I was unable to move either arm and received no form whatsoever of assistance in washing.My face remained covered in blood for my entire stay which I was unaware of as I was unable to leave my bed and had no mirror. I had an open wound on my shoulder that received no treatment until my discharge 72 hours later, this left considerable bloodstains on my pillow of which I was unaware, One of my injuries was a broken collar bone, I was left in a makeshift sling until I was seen by a consultant who was shocked and ordered a special sling, when this arrived none of the nurses knew how to put it on. It was only the following day that a sister saw me and the mess of my face, pillow and badly fitted sling and ordered that these problems were resolved immediately. My consultant ordered a MRI scan but when I got there the radiologist did not have full instructions a scan was done but I had to go back for the correct area to be scanned. Following my discharge I had an appointment with my consultant but the MRI scan results had not been passed to him. Several appointments later I was booked in for a nerve conduction test, When I attended the Neurologist didn't have my records but wet ahead anyway as he knew I had an appointment with another consultant 2 weeks later. I went for that appointment today and you won't be surprised that my nerve test results were not available! Some heads need to roll in this appallingly run hospital .I dread to think how much money has been wasted on my care. I could write a tome about other incidents .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. I understand that you have discussed your concerns with the Complaints Department and they are in the process of addressing your concerns. Thank you for your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story