"Unhappy with treatment of my mother."

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

My mother has been admitted to DRI 3 times now with urinary infections. Each time they have discharged her with feet so swollen she cannot go out of the house and has not been outside for 2 years now. I find the staff always too busy to speak to me when I visit and if I phone they say she is ok when she clearly is not. She is confused and is worse each time I visit but they say she seems normal to them even though I explain that she is living in a world that she knew 20 years ago. They say they are discharging her next week and are going to assess her but they refused her carers in July when she was discharged. They have lost some of her belongings and have even put one of her nighties on another patient! They never rang me to say she had been admitted even though they have my number on her records. I have found her floor in the room where she was dirty and today I have used 2 public lifts that had litter in them. I find the whole place uncaring and depressing and not a patch on the RHH in Sheffield.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Doncaster Royal Infirmary

We are really concerned to hear this and want to look into the issues and address them as a matter of urgency to your satisfaction. You haven't mentioned which area/ward(s) this relates to but if you would like to contact our Patient Advice & Liaision Service (PALS) on 0800 0288059 or pals.dbh@dbh.nhs.uk at your earliest convenience with more details we wil do everything we can to put this right. Please be assured that we are really keen to put these issues right.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story