"4 hour wait for injection"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Anything else?

I have just returned home after a four hour wait to have an injection done under sedation. I was told to be there at 7am for which I had to get up at 5am as I live on Sheppey. When I arrived I was told I was fifth on the list after waiting for two hours the doctor came and said my injection would only take a couple of minutes the after waiting for 4 hours the nurse came and told me I was now put further down on the list and I would be seven or eight she did not know which, I find this totally unacceptable because if I had turned up four hours late I would not stand a chance of being seen, and to top all of this I had to keep topping up the car park machine.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent patient experience with us. I apologise for the inconvenience and stress that you were caused on the day of your procedure, and as a result of your feedback we are looking at staggered admissions to prevent patients from having to wait for long time periods to go to theatre I am grateful that you have taken the time to provide us with feedback as it enables us to review pathways and processes and make improvements to ensure that patients do receive a good experience when receiving treatment at the Trust. Should you wish to provide any further feedback I would be very happy to discuss this with you, and can be contacted on 01634 830000 x6718. Sam Goldberg, General Manager – Surgery, Anaesthesia & Critical Care

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story