About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Anything else?

I pity those that are unable to attend any other hopsital in kent as this hospital is pretty dire. I lived in central london with 2 hospitals within walking distance, one was pretty poor but medway trumps that on all counts. The a&e area is depressing, hopeless, absolutely filthy and dire and thats before you even reach an examination room, just check the damn press. I would rather walk to gravesend hopsital than ever attend this site again, it gives me the shivers. The staff are generally quite brilliant, I am sorry for those that have to live with the poor management decisions that force them to work in such sorry and dire surroundings and circumstances. The maternity suite is god awful and the breastfeeding support and knowledge is pretty dire.. God forbid i'm ever unconscious and am taken to this god forbidden place without my knowledge...In fact, i'm going to write a note and stick it somewhere on my person to prevent that dire situation ever arising.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

I am sorry that you feel our maternity suite does not meet the standard that you would expect, we were fortunate to have received £270K from the department of health in June to refurbish our delivery suite and we feel that this money has had a very positive impact on the birthing environment for our mothers. I apologise that we have not meet your needs in supporting you with breast feeding and I am confident that with our recent recruitment to achieve a midwife to mother ratio of 1:29 that we will offer sufficient support to mothers who wish to feed their babies. In addition I will ensure that all staff attend the breast feeding training within the unit and this is more easily achieved with the increase in recruitment. I would like the opportunity to talk about your concerns and ask that you contact me on 01634 825157. Many thanks, Karen McIntyre Head of Midwifery and Head of Gynaecological Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story