"Parking fine for 4 minutes over ticket!"

About: Wansbeck Hospital

Anything else?

The parking at Wansbeck has never been great but the recent changes and removal of a patient car park being now a staff car park makes it even harder to find a space. I recently attended a pre natal appointment with a consultant at the hosipta, after previous problems in pregnancy we are always alittle worried and apprehnesive about these appointments. being 34 weeks pregnant I hoped to find a space near the relevant entrance. However this was not possible, I eventually parked my car and paid for an hour at the ticket machine. Duirng my appointment the consultant became concerned while scanning, she informed us she wanted us to go to the RVI to fetal medicine to be checked there. I then had to wait 20 minutes for an appointment to made. This was all fine and I am happy with the care I recevied fom the pregnancy assessment unit. Obviuosly we were very worried and attended out RVi appointment days later. However afew days later we recevied a parking fine, I was 4 minutes over the time I had paid on my car park ticket! I think this is outragous considering I was late due to the appointmnet running over and waiting for a second appointmnet at a different hopsital on request of the consultant that we wait. I certainly was not thinking about the car parking ticket at the this time but of the helath of our unborn child. I am highly disappointed with the new system that you ahve in place. We have had no issues in the past and have praised the hosiptal to others for their care we have recevied but going to hospital shouldn't mean worring about the parking and the possibility of receving a parkign fine. what will happen when I go into labour? will my husband be expected to top the ticket up when it runs out and run the risk of mising the birth?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust We are preparing to make a change

Dear Madam

I am really sorry that you had a poor experience of the new parking system. I was also disappointed to learn that you had received a parking notice after running over your parking time by just 4 minutes.

We would never want any of patients or their families to have to worry about parking and the possibility of receiving a parking notice when visiting one of our hospitals.

I understand that your appointment run over and that both you and your husband were concerned about your unborn child in that moment.

I feel sure we can help, please can you email me at Joanne.Mackintosh@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk

I was really pleased to know that you have always experienced high levels of care from staff at Wansbeck Hospital, thank you for sharing this with us.

Best Wishes


Response from Annie Laverty, Director of Patient Experience, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust We have made a change

picture of Annie Laverty

Dear Madam,

Just to update you that the outcome of this. The Trust has made an important change and reached an agreement which will result in the termination of the management contract with Parking Eye on all Northumbria premises.

I hope this provides you with some assurance of our determination to listen and respond to the needs of our patients and the local people we serve.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

With all best wishes,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story