"ward B14"

About: Peterborough City Hospital

Anything else?

My father was transfered to this ward in Nov 2012 - Feb 2013 (I spent hours there every day). (this was after an emergency addmission, after which he was left to fall out of bed on the emergancy short stay ward twice in three hours). The care on this ward was diabolical. no dignity or respect for the patients. minimum of 30 minute wait for call bells to be answered. patients being forced into standing hoists (which should never of been used with the condition they have). patients written up as incontinent - the real reason no one there to help them use the toilet. Patients suffering from dehydration and malnutrition, because drinks are not available, food is to disgusting to eat. patients not being washed properly and being ignored when they tell the staff they are hurting them. staff caring for patients do not know what health/disability problems they have. Heating turned down as the staff are hot, never mind the patient is freezing cold. Alert signs not put up until an inspection was due. Staff nurses going from rooms with infection notices on into next room with same apron and gloves on and then trying to push drugs into the patients mouth. When relatives do complain nothing is done, apart from a DATIX placed in the patients notes saying relative was rude. No respect for patients belongings. complete confusion and extreme length of time to get discharge sorted. Even when it is requested that a patient is not put on any sort of care pathway to end their life, the doctors write this up as the next course of treatment. Relatives leaving this ward in tears to frightened to complain. The whole out look on this ward is either the patient gets better of their own accord or they die, and the staff do not care which. I am making a formal complaint because it has broken my heart to see such disgusting lack of care for the most vunerable of people. This ward is a complete and utter disgrace.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lesley Crosby, Deputy Chief Nurse, Peterborough and Stamford Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

I am very concerned and shocked by your comments particularly as some of the points you have raised are factually incorrect.

I hope that when you make your formal complaint you will obtain clarity around some of the issues you have raised.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story