"woodpecker ward"

About: The Great Western Hospital

Anything else?

my mother stayed on this ward and the care she received was very poor compared to the care and kindness on other wards. she fell and bumped her head whilst 2 members of staff were in the room even though they should have known that she needed help moving - this was not reported to her family or recorded. whilst visiting family members saw members of staff talking rudely to another patient. although my mother was moved to a side ward due to diorhea she wasnt washed or made comfortable despite being very very sore. the physio was very helpful. one of the sisters seemed to be the only person who was kind and professional and gave us any information at all. we feel we should have complained whilst she was on this ward but when you are leaving a sick eldertly relative in the care of strangers you try not to in case they treated her even worse.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Great Western Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I'm sorry that you didn't feel able to raise your worries at the time. If you have any concerns in the future, please do let us know either by speaking to ward staff, or by contacting the Customer Service/PALS team who will be happy to help. Please let me reassure you that making a complaint will not affect the quality of care you or your family receive. We are keen to look into the concerns you've raised and Toni Lynch, Directorate Head of Nursing for Unscheduled Care, is keen to talk to you about your mothers stay. She can be contacted on 01793 605275 if you would like to discuss your concerns with in more detail.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story