About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Anything else?

Arrived 15 mins before my time to see the Dr. Scenes were chaotic, not enough seating, patients and relatives standing. A notice to tell you to put your booking in slip in the tray desoite a clerk sitting behind desk, looking at magazine and private diary and mobile! (this was case throughout my one hour 20 min wait beyond my appointment time. Nurses were openly moaning aboiut their job in low tones to each other but loud enough for you to hear! Finally called in to see Dr to be told my file was lost! This included extensive test results from a London Hospital (that was run by good nurses and managers). I had to go through all my tests, sypmtoms, etc with Dr who was clearly fed up. He went to get Consultant from room next door. Returned a few mins later to say I will need surgery and promptly completed consent form and a waiting list one. I wasnt even seen by the Consultant as Registrar suggested. Im now waiting to come in for major surgery on urgent list. I feel very concerned for my future treatment, care and outcome on the basis of this experience and fact hosp in special measures and you have no information on me. Only this week Monitor said you were under threat of Licence being removed and Managers. Seems to me the whole hospital is in crisis, with inept staff , managers and failing systems. Wish I was being treated in the London Hosp where my experiece was nothing short of professional and caring. My file wasnt the only one missing as I heard another patient discussing their missing one before I went in. I pushed the r for a reason and he said their were major issues in admin and an internal e mail was issued about missing files and a crisis in the admin side. Whilst this openness was welcome it raises serious problems not only clinically but with administration . At least Monitor have their finger on the pulse and know the issues are wider and deeper than originally thought. Please dont respond saying contact us as I have given enough information for a detailed response. I also fear for my future care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

The problems you raise are deeply concerning to us and without knowing your name and the dates you attended it is difficult for us to look into this further, which we need to do. We would however like to apologise for the delays you experienced as well as the poor service of the receptionist that you speak of, this will be addressed at the next staff meeting. As for the loss of your file, we are very sorry about this and we will be reviewing the processes relating to health records in the Patient Service Centre. I am sorry you feel concerned for your future treatment and I can assure you that our highly skilled doctors and nurses will do all they can to ensure that your time at Medway is as comfortable and stress free as possible, patient safety is at the centre of everything we do here at Medway Maritime Hospital. You mention a lack of staff and this is an issue that has been addressed with 60 additional nurses and 20 extra consultants having been recently employed. Again, we really would like you to get in touch so we can take you name and from there look into this situation and find out what went wrong on that day. Karen Phipps, Clinical Nurse Lead for Out Patient Services Karen.phipps@medway.nhs.uk 01634 830000 & Marion Fantetti Service Manager, Patient Service Centre Marion.fantetti@medway.nhs.uk 01634 830000

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story