"Using the 'ParkingEye' company was a big mistake."

About: North Tyneside General Hospital

Anything else?

I recently need to take my daughter to A&E and was their for longer than anticipated so didn't have enough cash on me to pay for parking. I tried to use the on-site cash machine but it was out of order. I then sought the help from the receptionist who assured me I didn't need to worry as I could pay for parking online. I followed the steps she gave me and successfully set up an account with ParkingEye but the system was faulty and did not allow me to pay the outstanding balance for use of the car park. I telephone ParkingEye to explain the situation and to pay the outstanding balance but they still charged me a £70 parking fine!! I wrote an appeal letter to ParkingEye but it was rejected. I am outraged that I had to pay a fine when I made every effort to pay for my parking and it was the fault of the ParkingEye online system that meant I couldn't pay for parking. I don't understand why the hospital had to change from the old parking system which was much more simple and straight forward than the ParkingEye system. My experience at the hospital was fine, however. It's the parking system that failed me.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Holly I was really disappointed to hear about your experience of the new parking system. I can appreciate that you have made every effort to pay for the extra parking time. I would really like to see if we can help, we never want any of our patients to feel that they have been treated unfairly. If you are happy to take my offer, please contact me at Joanne.Mackintosh@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk. I was really pleased to know that your experience of care from the team in A&E was a good one and I do hope your daughter is feeling much better now. Best Wishes Jo

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Annie Laverty, Director of Patient Experience, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust We have made a change

picture of Annie Laverty

Dear Holly,

Just to update you that the outcome of this. The Trust has made an important change and reached an agreement which will result in the termination of the management contract with Parking Eye on all Northumbria premises.

I hope this provides you with some assurance of our determination to listen and respond to the needs of our patients and the local people we serve.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

With all best wishes,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story