"Care good organisation poor"

About: Royal Sussex County Hospital

Anything else?

I was admitted as an emergency with a burst appendix and scepticemia. The care I received was good, but I was constantly moved around the wards, often in the early hours of the morning. I awoke one morning to find I had been moved to the day ward where there were no nurses on duty, only one assistant who was unable to deal with my condition or treat my open wound. Only when a ward sister visited mid morning, was I moved back to a proper ward for treatment after I complained. The nursing and doctor care are good, but the organisation and staffing levels are very poor.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Sussex County Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. I was very sorry to learn that you had to be transferred during your stay and appreciate that this can only have added to what was already a very worrying time for you. Our staff work hard to meet the needs of all of our patients and I am sorry that we did not get this right for you on this occasion. Your experience has been shared with the Digestive Diseases team for learning.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story