"Nice staff shame about the way it's managed."

About: Eastbourne District General Hospital

Anything else?

My wife had to attend A&E after a minor fall requiring stitches. It was around noon on a Saturday the wait was 1hour when we arrived and rose to 2 and it finally took 2 ¾ to be treated. The staff were fine, no complaints but the organisation was chaotic they seem to run a kind of “hot desking” system for the treatment rooms, doctors would come out for a patient and then start opening doors to find somewhere to treat them. Twice they entered one room next to me where a patient was being treated by another member of staff because the vacant / occupied slider on the door did not work. The whole place looks like it is being run down, damaged seats, vending machines that are out of order, parking ticket machine not working and a TV showing a constant pixelated image enough to set off a migraine I shouldn’t wonder! I suspect it is in fact planned to close eventually as ever more services are moved to the Conquest and prime building land is in short supply.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Eastbourne District General Hospital

Firstly may we apologise for our delay in posting a response. However, please be assured that all feedback posted is forwarded to relevant management staff within the organization. In respect of your posting, the General Manager for A&E will be notified of your observations and will look into the issues you have raised. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story