"waste of time"

About: Samuel Johnson Community Hospital

Anything else?

cant even attend to someone with ear ache, and the nurse I saw was unhelpful and miserable. Not slept for 2 days cant see a doctor and this place is a joke, you would be better going to your local vet. would get better treatment. If your ill don't bother with this place go to a real hospital.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Samuel Johnson Community Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experience at Samuel Johnson Community Hospital. We are very sorry to hear that you were in pain and unable to get the help you wanted. It is very unfortunate that you were unable to get a GP appointment as this would have been the best place to go for help with severe ear ache. At Samuel Johnson we run a minor injuries unit which is intended to help people who have fallen, slipped or tripped or had some other physical injury such as a deep cut or a dog bite. Nursing staff at the hospital do not have the resources, or necessarily the skills, to be able to diagnose or prescribe medication for illnesses and infections. We are continuing to work hard to raise awareness of the services the Trust provides at its hospitals in Lichfield, Tamworth and Burton – and the help people can seek from other healthcare providers in the community including pharmacists, GPs and out-of-hours GP services. However, if you would like to take your complaint further, please do contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) by emailing pals@burtonft.nhs.uk or telephone 01283 593110

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story