"2 day Old baby and AE...."

About: Darent Valley Hospital

Anything else?

Says it all really, we where left waiting for 4 hours, with our son who was in urinary retention, after we presented with a history of a minimum of 12 not passing urine.....well he was 2 days old. We were apparently referred to the neonate team (who where busy fair enough) then prioritized to the pediatric team who clearly thought we were calpol deficient parents. Despite the fact I gave a clear and concise history, explained my sons bladder could be felt up at the umbilicus and was evidently distressing him. That he had no urinated for over 12 hours etc and we on refection where unsure about it after was born due to loads of meconuim being passed. We were treated like, we had no idea and could not be articulate in voicing issues. Eventually he was seen and his bladder was as I said, the SHOs eyebrows shot up in to her hair and she suggested admission. He then screamed and an passed about 70+ mls of " brick dust urine" . I then repeated that I would be admitting my son or my self anywhere near this hospital as they clearly have failed again. I object to the fact that both my partner and myself were treated like we had no idea, about anything and effectively dismissed. Assume nothing about your patients, just because this is our local hospital does not mean education is lacking.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

Dear Stephanie Thank you for writing to tell us about your experience. We are very sorry to see that you felt let down by the service when you first came in with your son. We are very concerned after reading your feedback that your son’s urinary problem may not have improved after you left the hospital. Please could you let us know if he is ok now? If you are still concerned about his health, please do not hesitate to contact us or to bring him back for further examination. The information that parents give to clinicians is vital and we apologise that you were left feeling that the ‘clearly relevant’ information that you provided was dismissed. With best wishes The Communication Team Darent Valley Hospital glyn.oakley@dvh.nhs.uk 01322 428255

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story