"After admission"

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

Anything else?

Proviso! the main A&E were excellent...no qualms about that and Id recommend it to anyone. The problem occurs when they admit you to a ward. These short stay wards are abysmal! B20 in particular was nothing short of a disgrace and a more unprofessional lot you will never find. I asked 13hours for pain relief and actually left and returned to A&E begging for pain relief. Id asked the nurse to get the Dr many times and pleaded for pain relief only to be told "in a minute!". Paracetamol just didnt cut it (I was later given ZoMorph and oramorph...shows how bad the pain was) 10pm meds were given at 11:15 and 11:45, and a IV antibiotic given at 12.30!! At what time are you supposed to go to sleep?!? The staff speak in slang and just treat you as a nuisance and basically run the ward for their benefit and ease. I will never enter that ward again, Id insist on being pushed to the main exit. They asked me to fill in a questionnaire regarding the quality of the staff, ward etc within hours of going on it. I wasnt given the form, I was asked the question and told the positive answers.....obviously you pick on of those....they fill it in, making a mockery of the process....they even ask about stuff up to discharge (youve only been in hours!) Please lord, I hope you never have to attend this ward. The staff are unprofessional and some should be sacked for their total lack of respect and professionalism. It's rather dirty too. A disgrace to the NHS.....Management need to sort it ASAP!!! Once I was moved to a real ward after the "assessment" it was like winning the lottery, I could have cried after I was then looked after with care and compassion and given pain relief regularly in a pristine ward by dedicated professionals. Proving the hospital know how to do it and can excel.........unfortunately also proving the ethos and leadership on some of the wards need addressing immediately

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Many thanks for sharing your experience on the Admissions Unit. We are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered and whilst the Unit is extremely busy, this does not mean high standards of care should not be maintained. We would like to apologise that your experience was a good one and although we note you have kindly left positive feedback regarding your stay on Ward B28, if you would like us to look into the issues you have raised regarding your care on Ward B20, please forward your contact details to: corporate.affairs@chsft.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story