About: Southmead Hospital

Anything else?

I gave birth to my 3rd boy at Southmead this year. Shortly after delivery my temperature was noted to be very high, so they kept me at delivery sweet a little longer than usual. As it reduced slightly to 39, from 39.5 degrees, they decided to transfer me to the ward, but advised me I would need to have it checked again. I was delivered to a single occupancy room with my baby boy by the staff from delivery unit. I did not see anyone again until the early hours when I buzzed for some help as I had bled through my clothes. I was directed to where I could get myself some more pads. Again in the morning I buzzed to ask about breakfast (having had this brought on my previous births) and was told that at the end of the corridor was a self service area where I could take my baby with me and get my own. The most serious complaint is that at no point did anyone check my temperature, never mind, check on me through the night. Thankfully my temperature did not stay high/continue to rise, but this was lucky rather than checked. Having your 3rd and feeling more confident does not mean you can completely take care of yourself only hours after delivery esp if you are unwell. I also have a rare type of muscular dystrophy and had not walked further than 10 yards for 4 months prior to delivery. Advising me of a self-service area 20 yards away, that I should wheel my son to and look after myself felt overwhelming. Again, thankfullly, after delivery (unlike most women) I could walk better than before he was born, but this was not known by staff and no care was taken to ensure I could manage. I was and am fine, and so is my son, but more by luck than the care given. Delivery suite staff were lovely (though in the 6 hours I was in labour I saw 6 different midwives, all were lovely).

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Miss Parker-Clarke – thank you for your helpful and positive comments about your surgery and the care you received in Southmead Hospital. I am glad that in general you were pleased with the care and advice you received, and that this was delivered in a professional way. I note your comments about the information provided to you during the period of your immediate recovery and I apologise that you were not able to remember this. There is always a balance to be struck on how long to wait before informing patients about the results of their surgery, as every patient can receive different amounts and react differently to any pain relief provided: if left too long this causes unnecessary anxiety, and if provided too quickly then the patient may not be able to assimilate the information. I very much regret that you were unable to remember what was said. However, if you had made the ward staff aware then they should have been able to arrange for the Consultant or a member of their team to visit you and explain the results again. I apologise if this did not happen. If you would like to contact the Consultant’s secretary (via the central switchboard, if you do not have the number) and explain your concerns I am sure they can arrange for you to be contacted to resolve the matter. Thank you again for your positive feedback and I was pleased to hear that you have made a full and speedy recovery. Your comments have been fed back to the service manager so they can be aware of your views. Kind Regards – Steve Sykes Advice and Complaints Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story