"Staff were rufe"

About: Mount Vernon Hospital

Anything else?

I visited the minor injuries unit on advice from my GP. I hurt the heel of my foot in a fall and hadn't been able to walk on it for five days at this point. I had tried to let it heal first with rest and anti-inflammatory medicine as I didn't want to go to the hospital, but it was only getting worse. I don't mind waiting as it's uncontrollable but rude staff is another issue. I was assessed by a nurse first who I felt wasn't listening to what I was telling her. She had automatically assumed that I thought my foot was broken, which I knew wasn't. I then was shoved in to get an xray and once the nurse finished I was told to wait on the table. A few minutes later another nurse came in barking at me to get out and wait in the hall. I could then hear a nurse talking about me to another nurse. This nurse then took me to a desk to tell me what I already knew, that in fact my bone was not broken and it was more than likely a sprain. She told me to ice and rest it (which is what I had been doing for the past five days). I told her that due to the location of my work it was impossible for me to rest it and that it's painful to walk on. She didn't listen to me but instead told me 'that life must go on' and that was that. I can honestly say I burst in to tears when I left because she had been to horrible to me, not at all empathetic or understanding. I felt that the staff had no respect for me and no interest in helping me. If they had I now would not have a sore ankle or knee on my other leg from supporting my weight incorrectly. I do not pay taxes for poor care or be treated with such little respect.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Mount Vernon Hospital

We were very sorry to read these comments, and wish to express our sincere apologies to this person. Rudeness is never acceptable, so that we are at a loss to explain why this patient had such a negative experience of our service. As the comments are anonymous, and make no reference to the date of attendance, we are unable to investigate this further. However, the Minor Injuries staff have been made aware of this review and it is hoped they will be more mindful of the feelings of others in future. As a rule, we endeavour to treat our visitors with kindness and respect, tailoring our care to the needs of the individual. I am sorry to hear that we fell so short of the mark on this occasion.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story