"Medical treatment good, Administratioin diabolical"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

Anything else?

For the second time in less than 18 months I have had an operation cancelled at very short notice due to disgustingly poor administration. Today I was supposed to be having a minor operation, but either the Medical Secretary or the MRSA Team (no one admits it's their fault) failed to put the procedure in place to send me for a MRSA health screen. Consequently my operation was cancelled; I now face a disrupted week and the hospital have cost implications due to operating space and surgeon's time not being fully utilised. My advice - If you are due an operation make sure you have had a health screen in the last 4 weeks. Phone the hospital on extension 1657 to check if you need to have a screen. Don't trust ANY of the administration staff. The medical staff are generally brilliant but let down by abominably poor administration.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you, Mervyn, for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience of our hospital. We are very sorry to hear that you felt let down by the administrational side of your treatment and that this resulted in your operation being cancelled. We appreciate how inconvenient this will have been for you. We understand that you have previously been in touch with the deputy matron for surgery so we have passed the concerns you have raised here to her. She will be in contact with you shortly to discuss the issues you have raised. Following your feedback it has been agreed that all letters sent to patients ahead of orthopaedic surgery will include a sentence telling patients that their procedure will not be able to go ahead without a screen for MRSA beforehand. All letters will now ask patients to get in touch with our screening team if they have not yet been screened. Anyone who would like advice prior to surgery about MRSA screening can contact the MRSA Screening Service on (01384) 456111 extension 1657. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story