"Day Care Ward for Surgery"

About: Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

No one is allowed to have a friend or relative present it is argued because there isn't enough space.

The nurse showed no empathy for my anxiety.

After surgery I was offered one drink and a slice of toast. I had been on the ward since 12. 30pm. My surgery was at 3pm and I wasn't able to go home until 7. 30pm. I was offered one drink and a slice of toast in all this time.

After surgery (about 3 hours) I was left on my own, obviously plenty of space for company. I was lied to about a test result, the nurse claimed the result wasn't there, but I got it later in clinic and i was given 2 packs of blue gauze to change my dressings at home when I should have had Mepore.

The surgical team were brilliant.

My daughter had been waiting at the hospital since my admittance at 12. 30pm, she could have kept me company after surgery.

I'll never use this route at this hospital again.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital

We are sorry to hear that your experience of day surgery was poor and that you would have liked more to eat and the company of your daughter. Thank you for taking the time to comment on the service and we will pass your comment to the team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Janice Bradfield, Senior Communications and Membership Manager, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

I am sorry that you were not able to have a relative with you and that you didn't have enough to eat after your procedure.

Thank you for letting us know about your experience and we will pass on your comments to the day surgery team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Recently read