"Operation cancelled twice"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

Anything else?

My husband has just returned after having his surgical procedure cancelled for the second time due to there being no beds. Both times he went to the hospital at 11.30am, sat around ( the first time for four hours) and was then told to go home as "there are no beds anywhere". The operation my husband is waiting for will have a big impact on his life, it is not a procedure that he can keep having put off as it is affecting his life in many ways, including affecting his sleep. I am so disappointed by this hospital, if they cannot meet the demands of the public they are suppoaed to treat then they should be honest and tell patients to choose other hospitals where their needs can be met. I tried to contact the PALS service but got a very bored answerphone message to leave my number "if it was urgent" and someone might get back to me in 24 hours! I do not have any expectations that matters will be resolved with any speed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Due to the volume of patients requiring hospital beds we do have to cancel routine operations. We recognise this is traumatic for patients and we do try to minimise cancellations during these times, but sometimes cancellations are unavoidable. The volume of emergency patients is unpredictable on a daily basis and because of this we can’t forecast as to when these pressures occur. I am sorry for the inconvenience. Carol Horne Matron for Urology

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story