"Disappointment in local health care"

About: Tameside General Hospital / Gynaecology

(as a staff member),

This story has been posted by Healthwatch Tameside on behalf of a member of the public who asked not to have their name published. They said…

The lady is a nursing auxiliary who is a qualified nurse in her own country, so has medical knowledge. Around her menopause she had extremely heavy periods and became anxious, depressed and unable to work. Her GP told her she was 'neurotic' and gave her no treatment. She eventually was referred to the gynaecological department at Tameside Hospital, but felt because her English was not good, that she wasn't taken seriously. She is very disappointed in local healthcare.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

I am sorry that you have had an upsetting experience when attending for treatment at the hospital.

We are always looking for ways to further improve the patient experience. Can I ask that you contact the PALS department so we can examine the issues you have raised in more detail 0161 922 4466 Pals@tgh.nhs.uk

Kind regards,

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story